Why I believe the Bible

Do you believe the Bible is accurate? Ask a professing Christian that question and you will likely be rewarded with a decisive, Of Course! Probe a bit further and things become shaky. Continue pressing the the issue by asking why, and things get ugly.  Some will say, “I was raised that way.”  Others may reply in honesty, “I don’t know why; I just do.”  Many, however, proclaim, “I tried it and it worked for me.” None of these answers give sufficient reason. 1 Peter 3:15 instructs to be prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks for a reason for the hope that is in you. The Greek word Peter employs here (apologia) means to give a well-reasoned, verbal defense of one’s position. Pastor Voddie Baucham does an excellent job summarizing Biblical accuracy with the following statement:

“I choose to believe the Bible because it is a reliable collection of historical documents, written by eyewitnesses during the lifetime of other eyewitnesses.  They report supernatural events that took place in fulfillment of specific prophecies, and they claim to be divine rather than human in origin.”

Please, listen to Dr. Baucham’s full reasoning behind believing Scripture. It is excellent.

One response to “Why I believe the Bible

  1. Pingback: EXCELLING IN LIFE | bummyla

Let me hear it!

